August 28, 2009

Phish Releases Track Listing for Party Time; Trey Makes Guest Appearance on Rich Pagano Debut; Bearsville Sessions Download Link

Phish's gradual and relentless marketing campaign rolling out the debut of Joy continued this week with the announcement of the track listing for Party Time, the bonus album of outtakes featuring songs from the Bearsville Sessions (Story of the Ghost days; download a copy here), the Undermind sessions, and various side projects.

The track listing for Party Time will be:

Party Time (2:43)
Alaska (7:16)
Windy City (5:20)
In A Misty Glade (2:51)
Gone (4:10)
Only A Dream (4:10)
The Birdwatcher (2:16)
Let Me Lie (3:57)
If I Told You (3:53)
Splinters Of Hail (3:33)
Can't Come Back (4:38)
Shrine (1:54)
Liquid Time (4:23)

Currently, you can stream versions of In a Misty Glade, Gone, The Birdwatcher, Shrine and If I Told You, and read about the history behind those five tracks, over at Dog Gone Blog.

Party Time is only available as part of the Joy Box set, which you can pre-order now through Phish Dry Goods. Also announced is the Joy Box will include a DVD featuring performances from the first leg of Summer Tour 2009. I bet it will lean heavily on the Bonnaroo sets, since those performances were the only ones with a professional film crew on site with cameras rolling through all three sets in order to broadcast straight to the video screens on either side of the stage.

The Joy Box does not ship until early October, so Phish is making all 10 tracks from Joy available for download for free to everyone who pre-orders the box set.

For your viewing pleasure, here is a high definition, three-camera video shoot of the encore from March 8, 2009 in Hampton, featuring the reworked Bug and ending with Tweeprise.

In other recent news from, "all wanna-be designers and graphic artists: design a T-shirt for "Festival 8", the band's upcoming three-day Halloween festival in Southern California, and you could be the lucky winner of two tickets to the event." For more information check out the contest rules posted on Phish's web site.

Also in the news, Trey Anastasio recorded guitar tracks, including a solo, on the forthcoming self-titled debut album by Rich Pagano and the sugarCane Cups called "You Want To Stay High." (What's up with the irony in picking Trey for that song?) Pagano is best known as the drummer for Beatles cover band the Fab Faux, which includes bass player Will Lee from Late Night with David Letterman and guitarist Jimmy Vivino from The Tonight Show with Conan O'Brien. Others who contributed to the album, due next month, include Mott the Hoople’s Ian Hunter and David Johansen of New York Dolls fame. You can listen to Pagano's song by clicking here, courtesy of The Music Mix Blog.

And in case you missed it, here are the rumored tour dates for the rest of 2009, including New Year's Eve.

No comments: